Anatomy of Nephron

Anatomy of Nephron: Structural and functional unit of the kidney is the nephron and there are about 1 million nephrons in the kidney.

Each nephron consists of…
 1. Bowman's capsule
 2. Glomerulus
 3. Proximal convoluted tubule
 4. Loop of Henle
 5. Distal convoluted tubule
 6. Collecting tubules
 7. Duct of Bellini 
Anatomy of Nephron
Anatomy of Nephron
  • Bowman’s capsule: The cavity of this capsule is occupied by a network of blood capillaries which collectively form a structure called the glomerulus.
  • Glomerulus: It is a tuft of capillaries with an afferent capillary combine is from the circulation and a different capillary going out into the circulation. Glomeruli acts as an ultra-filter.
  • Proximal convoluted tubules (PCT): it is lined by cubical cells. These Celia are active and secrete some enzymes like carbonic anhydrase which helps in the maintenance of acid-base balance in the blood.
  • Rente’s loop: It is a U-shaped tube and has a descending limit and ascending Trab. Loop of Henle is physiologically important because it reabsorbs several important substances that are filtered by the glomerulus back into the blond.
  • Distal convoluted tubules: Thes are lined by the cuboidal cells. The absorption of Na+ is under the control of aldosterone which they place in this part of the nephron.
  • Collecting tubules: They are lined by cuboidal cells Collecting tubules of the nephron unite together to form one straight tube.
  • The duct of Bellini: This arises from the final combination of many straight tubules and finally drains into the apex of the pyramid of the kidney.
Make sure you also check our other amazing Article on : Anatomy and Function of Kidney
Sharing Is Caring:

Leave a Comment